top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

Boot Scoot Boogie

By Denise Renée Purdie


Keywords: restaurants, plant-based burgers, music and demographics


So a few minutes ago, I ventured forth into the great unknown. Well, as it’s only a couple blocks away, I suppose it is not that unknown. Regardless though, I found Whataburger and I was surprised they didn’t have Wi-Fi. They also don’t have a plant-based burger but hold that thought.


I was talking with a very friendly cashier and she she was surprised other places have free Wi-Fi it. I indicated that even places like Jack-in-the-Box have free Wi-Fi. (I am in the midst of getting unlimited Internet on my phone and again that is a whole other story so in my new spot and I am looking for different places that have Wi-Fi and an opportunity for me to work outside the house just to have a change in headspace.)


So, I went across the street to Wendy’s and picked up something for my folks and of course to avail myself of the free Wi-Fi to hand in my homework. I started thinking about the different music playing in Whataburger, country of course, versus Wendy’s which is kind of an 80s / 90s pop-rock vibe.

As a trained marketer, I started thinking about everything from the menu, the packaging, the music, the type of staff and everything in between.


Back to the burgers! While I have not closely looked at the demographics for plant-based people, so I don’t know if there’s enough of a market for Whataburger to feel it is worthwhile to offer a plant-based burger, I do know that is increasingly a trend at most establishments. I will probably reach out. At the very least, I would love to get into a brief e-conversation with their marketing and product development team to get some insights on if they’ve considered it and why they decided not to. I’m not mad at them either way. If not offering a plant-based burger is good for their business model, it’s their prerogative (cue Bobby Brown!) … But I guess what I’m really wondering is if the people who like the boot scoot boogie even care about plant-based burgers!


To be continued

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty...

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said...

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page