top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

Not meant to be alone

By Denise Renée Purdie


Keywords: God, partnerships, relationships


Even without the complications I won’t go into in this post, renovating a property is a challenge, but I’m going to go for it and trust in God. After we get it in livable form, we can start working on the back house and that can start yielding fruit in terms of having an Airbnb rental or if nothing else I can stay in one and another family unit can stay in the other. At least it won’t be sitting there decaying.


I am a fervent believer that if you don’t live in a place and give it love, it deteriorates. I guess that is something like people in general. That’s why I really feel like the original pattern God created for men and women tells us that we are not meant to live alone. Or be alone.


Genesis 2:18 KJV

And the Lord God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him.


Some people would argue that man here does not mean woman, but let’s leave gender out of it and say that people are not meant to live alone. Even in the wild, having someone to cover your back is important. If not, I believe God would’ve created us with eyes in the back of our heads!


I don’t have the statistics to hand, but I have read that married people tend to be happier overall and live longer—and I definitely believe that is because of this principle. If you are in a loving partnership, you look out for the other person. You tend to notice if there is something different with them in terms of their mood or behavior that might be harmful to them. And hopefully, they trust you enough to get some help about it.


When you live alone, there is typically no one to see if there are changes in your handwriting, which may indicate some type of illness. Often there’s no one to notice that you are not doing the things you used to love which might indicate depression or some type of decrease in mental faculties. People wouldn’t necessary notice right away that you aren’t eating enough or you’re forgetting to take your medication.   


While there are exceptions to the “rule,” and I definitely won’t debate that—as if you are happy, I am happy—but I am a partnership person. And I can’t wait to be able to snuggle up on a Sunday afternoon, and watch movies with my boo in matching pajamas! Until my life gets into that alignment groove though, I will continue on with my goal and thank God for every grace He extends to me. 🙌🏽🙌🏽🙌🏽

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty...

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said...

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page