top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

Cooking up ideas

By Denise Renée Purdie


Last night I cooked tacos for the second time in a week … by the request of a decided carnivore. Since I may be cooking another lot tonight, clearly they were hit, I wanted to make something tasty, but easy for right now. I decided to cook some sweet potatoes in the air fryer, make some yellow rice and season up some canned black beans.


I’m thinking of this meal as having a little bit of a Cuban twist although I would love to have some jackfruit I could pan fry and spice up. Since I don’t have plantains, I decided to experiment with sweet potatoes. I’ll add a little nutmeg and some butter … and probably some Cayenne pepper or chili powder. I like my food sweet and spicy, like me! Lollll


I’ll probably just eat plain white rice for this first dish and if I feel like it later I will sauté some spices and make some yellow rice. I’m glad I read the label because it has chicken stock and other chicken products in it so I can’t eat the Tony C version. I never remember how to spell it but if I remember when I get up I will look at the box.


I found a delicious sweet potato recipe so I’ll share that link with you just in case you want to try it:



I don’t know what you’re cooking up tonight, but why not take a step out of your comfort zone and try something new?! I love giving suggestions for “What should I make for dinner?!” so if you send me a picture of your pantry and your fridge, I’ll be happy to give you some ideas.      


Bon appétit!


Keywords: plant-based, cooking, meal ideas

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty comfortable with broadcasting. In doing so, I have been blessed

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said that the Bible says that men shouldn’t chase women. So, of course

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and bellicosity about this only because now he is viewed in a different way,

Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

© 2021-2023 by Rising Star Entrepreneurial Enterprises LLC. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page