top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

Cultural cross-pollination

By Denise Renée Purdie


Being a bibliophile, I want to go to the library of Alexandria!!! I wish I could have seen the original before it was burned. I cringe at the knowledge that was lost during that fire and with the burning of books in Germany during the Nazi regime and in other countries as well. Of course there is a lot of censorship going on in America at the moment, particularly of what really happened in history.   


People are shortsighted to believe that by censoring books and taking it out of the curriculum, the truth will not be known, but it is particularly alarming because the people who really need to know will have less chance of finding out. Africans are largely from an oral tradition, but how are people who are indoctrinated with hate supposed to find out what’s really true?


I had a discussion with an instructor at my school who teaches history and I strongly recommended that he should immediately read The New Jim Crow. I believe he immediately ordered it and read it. He was the type of person / scholar who could assimilate a new viewpoint, even if it didn’t match his worldview. Most people are not like that.


One reason why I feel like racism has diminished slightly from 100 years ago is the fact that we are mixing more with people who are dissimilar to us. It is really only by interacting with other humans who are different from us that we figure out we are very much the same in a lot of respects. Of course there are differences because of cultures, heredity, upbringing and a myriad of other factors, but the basics are often the same.   


  • We need shelter, food and all the other basics on Maslow‘s hierarchy of needs.


  • Humans tend to want love and want to love.


  • Most humans want to reproduce or at least leave a legacy of some sort.   


It has been my absolute pleasure to get to know a lot of different people around the world. I know an Egyptian, many Australians, people from several different African countries and of course people here in the United States. I believe getting to mesh and interact is the true way to understand people, break down stereotypes and truly connect to create what I call cultural cross-pollination. And who knows what beautiful new ideas, experiences and inventions these combinations will create!


Keywords: culture, diversity, censorship, racism reduction

1 view2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty comfortable with broadcasting. In doing so, I have been blessed

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said that the Bible says that men shouldn’t chase women. So, of course

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and bellicosity about this only because now he is viewed in a different way,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page