top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

Devolving

By Denise Renée Purdie


I am devolving

Butterfly :: caterpillar

I bloomed much too soon


A while ago I asked a few friends if they’d gone to their prom as I wondered if it was true that some people peek in high school and the rest is just downhill. OK, transparent moment, I hoped that was true since despite being valedictorian, high school was not my favorite time. Out of my friend circle, only one person went to their prom and she is one of the kindest people I know. She’s also crushing it in the non-profit sector. She also loved high school. So much for my theory that people who didn’t peek in high school flower later ….


This all arose though from my feelings of ennui and the belief I have indeed already peeked, not in high school but in my 30s when I had home / hearth, a husband and a new lease on my academic and business life. Since then I’ve had some great achievements but that definitely felt like my pocket.


We cannot foretell the future but I’m definitely feeling I’m at one of my lowest points and I’m not quite sure how to pull myself out of the quagmire. I can only thank God for His strength because I feel very little. With that said, I do have a small hope that there can be multiple flowering periods and that even if it isn’t a rose, another flower may still smell as sweet.


Note: I think I wrote this on Mother’s Day, which is always a challenging day for me. I still believe this is true on an elemental level, but I’m doing much better today. In fact, my post today is going to be about a lesson I learned about love through observation. I thought about not posting this, but I frankly feel like transparency is a great superpower.


Keywords: transparency, devolving, nostalgia, introspection, hope, superpowers

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty comfortable with broadcasting. In doing so, I have been blessed

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said that the Bible says that men shouldn’t chase women. So, of course

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and bellicosity about this only because now he is viewed in a different way,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page