top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

Giving a fig about it

Updated: May 29, 2023

By Denise Renée Purdie


While thinking about a very big decision, I thought about the parable of Jesus and the fig tree and it reinforced that I am making the right decision … to give it one last chance and if it doesn’t yield fruit to let it go.


Matthew 21:19 KJV

And when he saw a fig tree in the way, he came to it, and found nothing thereon, but leaves only, and said unto it, Let no fruit grow on thee henceforward for ever. And presently the fig tree withered away.


My Grandmother has had a fig tree in her backyard ever since I can remember. I’ve seen it full of big, dark, juicy looking figs, but I never cared for figs. I’ve also seen it with just leaves when it wasn’t in its fruit bearing season. Hopefully I’ll live long enough to see it bear fruit again. (I have it in my mind that I want to try a pizza with figs on it and I’ve also heard they are quite expensive so if I decide to put down roots here for real, I would love to take them to a farmer’s market.) Update: I visited today and was happy to see the fig tree is still alive, although not as big as it used to be as well as a shrub that usually has yellow flowers, oleanders here and there and a fairly large pomegranate tree and a sprig of another one. I'm super happy that there are some remnants of things I truly want to preserve.


Here is a photo of the fig tree:



I'm going to try to think of it when the road gets long ...


So, this post isn’t about the fig tree, but it definitely reinforces that sometimes we hold onto something so long that it loses its value. It might start as symbolic for something or someone that can’t be replaced. I’ve come to that realization and it is liberating and exciting. So while the situation has not resolved itself or really changed, my mindset about it has, and therein lies all the difference.


Keywords: Jesus, parable, idioms, fig trees

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty comfortable with broadcasting. In doing so, I have been blessed

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said that the Bible says that men shouldn’t chase women. So, of course

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and bellicosity about this only because now he is viewed in a different way,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page