top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

Leaders read: I think I can.

From a very early age, books and reading were a normal part of my life. Mom recounted the story of asking me if I could read. Apparently I said, "I think I can." I believe I always felt if someone else could do it, I certainly could.


In my toybox from childhood, I had a Dr. Seuss book called, In A People House. To this day, I love that book!


One of my earliest memories of a series I loved was the Chronicles of Narnia. It awoke a fascination of magic and I still get that warm and fuzzy feeling when I think about it. I don't know if this is an implanted or conjectured memory, but I remember sitting on the floor in a circle listening to my third grade teacher read those books. My inner child is smiling.


Along my publishing and authorial journey, one of the things I am most proud of is having a couple of my books in a local library. I can only conjecture about what my Mom's response would've been, but I definitely know we would've had a trip downtown to the library where we would've picked my books off the shelf and had some great photo opportunities.


Here I have to give a special shoutout to the beautiful librarian who saw me at one of my first vending events. She encouraged me to reach out and she spearheaded the purchase of my books and placement in the library!!! 🙌🏽🙌🏽🙌🏽


Mom, I thank you for every seed you planted, and I will continue striving to build a legacy you would've been proud of.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty comfortable with broadcasting. In doing so, I have been blessed

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said that the Bible says that men shouldn’t chase women. So, of course

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and bellicosity about this only because now he is viewed in a different way,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page