top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

Simply the Best

By Denise Renée Purdie


I was just discussing Tina Turner with someone the other day and I just found out about her passing away. When you think of legends and icons in the musical world, you definitely have to include Tina Turner. We have lost another superstar.


I knew a little bit about her tumultuous past with Ike Turner, but reading this article made me feel sad for her earlier years. I’m so thankful she left him and was able to have an amazing career and life afterwards.   


I remember doing a school project in Australia where I chose “Simply the Best” as my theme song. I sure wish I could find a photo that a friend of mine photoshopped of me and Tina … I’m smiling think of her vivacious performances, long legs, fabulous wigs and beautiful smile.    


Tina’s description of her marriage with second husband, former EMI record executive Erwin Bach was so beautiful:


“It’s that happiness that people talk about,” Turner told the press at the time, “when you wish for nothing, when you can finally take a deep breath and say, ‘Everything is good.’”


I have probably had those moments, but I am praying hard for my next batch … and I hope it lasts. What will certainly last though is Tina Turner‘s musical legacy.


Keywords: Tina Turner, tribute, relationships, love


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty comfortable with broadcasting. In doing so, I have been blessed

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said that the Bible says that men shouldn’t chase women. So, of course

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and bellicosity about this only because now he is viewed in a different way,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page