top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie


Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said that the Bible says that men shouldn’t chase women. So, of course, I asked him for the Scripture.


This is the scripture he gave to us:


Proverbs 31:3 KJV

[3] Give not thy strength unto women, nor thy ways to that which destroyeth kings.


I was going to say categorically this isn’t what the Scripture says, but I kind of understand what he means in that being overly moved by someone else could definitely cause you to be reckless.


The other thing this conversation reminds me of is the Scripture that says the woman / wife is the prize … although let me go look at it to make sure I’m not misquoting God!!!


Proverbs 18:22 KJV

[22] Whoso findeth a wife findeth a good thing, and obtaineth favour of the Lord.


***


Proverbs 3:15 KJV

[15] She is more precious than rubies: and all the things thou canst desire are not to be compared unto her.


Notably, neither one of these Scriptures mention the word prize and indeed prize is only mentioned twice in the Bible …


1 Corinthians 9:24 KJV

[24] Know ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain.


***


Philippians 3:14 KJV

[14] I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.


As Internet research often does, this discussion led me to this interesting article:



It indicates that neither the man or the woman should be the prize. Instead, a healthy relationship should be the prize. I can definitely get with that!!!


I’ll probably add more to this, but I’m still working on my first cup of coffee. However, it was interesting to note that wife is only mentioned twice in the Bible and husband is mentioned 152 times. Woman is mentioned 340 times. And man is mentioned 3,323 times. (The things that make you go hmmmmm!)


Keywords: relationships, the prize, wife, husband, Scriptures, Proverbs



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty comfortable with broadcasting. In doing so, I have been blessed

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and bellicosity about this only because now he is viewed in a different way,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page