top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

The what-if game

By Denise Renée Purdie


I know I’m not the only one to engage in the what-if/sliding glass door game. There are a couple pivotal moments in my life that I feel would’ve led me down a much different path. I won’t say better; I will just say different.


When movies talk about parallel universes, it does get you thinking. I wonder if there is a parallel universe where there is a Renée with nine kids and a husband who loves gardening …


Or maybe there is one with a Renée who is a pilot and a world traveler with stacks of money. Wait! I’m still hoping I can live in that universe!!!


There are also universes where there is no Renée and the Lord has protected me so far from that …


I usually shrug off the what-if game and then start being grateful for the things in my life. I’m going to find that celebration list right now because I need a reminder today as I contemplate the next leg of this journey.


DID IT list:


  • Got married

  • Rode in a hot air balloon

  • Lived in another country for 12 years

  • Swam in the Great Barrier Reef

  • Visited the Grand Canyon twice. So I’ve seen two of the seven natural wonders of the world!

  • Finished my bachelor’s after a 32 year delay

  • Finished my first master’s

  • Started my own business in 2004

  • Published 14 books on Amazon and helped several clients publish their books

  • Got baptized after accepting Jesus as my Lord and Savior

  • Appeared on TV

  • Bought land and built a house from the ground up with my then husband


I have a lot more things I want to do in my lifetime, but I am sitting on the porch now listening to wind chimes and I’m going to celebrate the journey so far.


Keywords: bucket lists, future, contemplation

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty comfortable with broadcasting. In doing so, I have been blessed

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said that the Bible says that men shouldn’t chase women. So, of course

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and bellicosity about this only because now he is viewed in a different way,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page