top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenée Purdie

Worship songs are the ultimate love songs

By Denise Renée Purdie


Apart from waking up praying for a couple people who are having health issues, and I do need to do a lot more intercession once I wake up a bit as I’ve only had a couple hours sleep, I started thinking of the worship song “All I Need Is You.” I started thinking about how many love songs can be changed into worship songs. After all, worship songs are love songs to God.


One of the greatest singers of all time, Whitney Houston, had the ability to turn secular music into gospel with the purity of her voice. That’s probably because of her early church roots. Aretha was another singer like that and Fantasia is too so I’ll have to see if she has any gospel collections.


My point is … we were created to worship God and when we sing about love, we’re really singing about Him because God is love. I’m not talking about the physical manifestations of love as that’s a whole other topic, but I’m talking about pure, unconditional, unalloyed love … a love that is often hard to find in our day-to-day relationships.


Unconditional love is about:


… caring about that person being good even if they are not with you.

… loving the person enough to help them course correct if you see they are going down the path of destruction.

… seeing them for truly are while helping them become better than they ever thought possible.


I believe these are parts of the keys of agape love, and I pray to leave not only the world better, but people that I encounter as well. I pray that the Lord will lead me towards loving not only His people, but the people who do not know Him. Moreover …


Matthew 5:43-48 KJV

[43] Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbour, and hate thine enemy. [44] But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; [45] That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust. [46] For if ye love them which love you, what reward have ye? do not even the publicans the same? [47] And if ye salute your brethren only, what do ye more than others ? do not even the publicans so? [48] Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.


I’m FAR from perfect, but I pray with God’s grace I’ll get better each day, and learn to love others in a special way! 🙌🏽🙌🏽🙌🏽


Keywords: God, love, prayer, intercession

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social media journey

I think I first got on social media in 2008. Since then, I've connected with a lot of people around the world, and I have gotten pretty comfortable with broadcasting. In doing so, I have been blessed

The Real Prize

By Denise Renée Purdie Last night I was on TikTok, notably not the best source of accurate Scriptural information, but one person said that the Bible says that men shouldn’t chase women. So, of course

Music is the real magic

To all the music I've loved before By Denise Renée Purdie Concerts I have gone to … MC Hammer. I feel a mixture of chagrin and bellicosity about this only because now he is viewed in a different way,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page